OK, Now I Know…

Who the “Half-Blood Prince” is.

I won’t tell you, because anyone out there who hasn’t read the book yet will kill me.

I wasn’t disappointed with the book. It was not so “action packed,” but the stories and the history and all the information in the book honestly fascinate me. And once the action starts, it’s over pretty quickly. A couple of things, however, that I didn’t like:

There was no plot. I felt like it was a narrative of a year in the life of Harry. What I mean by “no plot” is no plot in the classic literary sense of: conflict, rising action, climax, denoument and resolution. What there is a lot of is set up. So, if you think of this book as a stand-alone, it’s probably really bad. BUT, if you think of this book as the penultimate in a seven-part series, setting up what really should be an awesome Book Seven, well, then, you can start to appreciate it for what it is.

The other thing I didn’t like, without giving away too much, is the weak backstory behind the title character. There was a nice build-up, and it was setting up to be cool, and even the person it was was cool, but the oomph! moment was good, but the whole afterward was really, really, weak.

Finally, as I’m sure everyone knows already, the ending is sad. So I’m sad, and scared for the future. Anyone that wants to discuss this, send me an email. I love talking about these things. But I don’t want to ruin it for the blog readership who hasn’t read the book, so my analysis will come to an end here.

2 responses to “OK, Now I Know…

  1. NOY G said:

    “What I mean by “no plot” is no plot in the classic literary sense of: conflict, rising action, climax, denoument and resolution.”

    Thanks for reminding me of Schoeneman and ruining my day. V’hamayvin Yavin.

  2. Pingback: Dumbledore’s Dead « The Noy G Show

Leave a Reply

