Something I Don’t Get

So there’s this commerical airing lately for Adidas sneakers, and the tagline is, “cushioning that never quits.”

Maybe you’ve seen it? It’s the one where this guy is jogging through town, and all around him everything that has air in it pops. He pops tires on a line of cars, kids’ baloons, a park full of moonwalk rides at a fair and all the tires on an 18-wheeler.

Seen it?

I don’t get it. What’s the point supposed to be? His shoes are so comfortable they bust everything around them? Huh? What does comfortably cushioned shoes have to do with bursting tires? Are these magical shoes? Did the runner get his shoes from the same guy who sold Jack his beanstalk beans?!?! (“I might have been mistaken.”)

So, in the comments, I want explanations. Oh, and name that movie.

4 responses to “Something I Don’t Get

  1. I’m guessing these sneakers have technology similar to that of the “Nike Air” series. If so, then they’re probably just inferring that the sneakers will outlast all of these other things with air in them.

  2. Oh, and I can’t figure out the movie but I could swear I hear Ben Stiller’s voice when I read that line so I’ll go with “Dodgeball.”

  3. I thought that might be it, also…

    so then why does the little girl’s pogo stick fail, and the couches and water beds explode as he passes?

  4. ‘My Cousin Vinny’… that’s an easy one…

    “Perhaps the laws of physics cease to exist on your stove. Were these magic grits? Did you buy them from the same guy who sold Jack his beanstalk beans?”

Leave a Reply

