McCain for President. McCain for Everyone.

Only because DovBear started it:

I would LOVE McCain. I voted for him in the 2000 NY Republican Primary. (In fact, I registered as a Republican just to vote for him in the primary).

But there’s a problem. He’s a senator. Senators don’t get elected President. Governor’s do.

I don’t know why, but it’s true. The last US President who was a senator when he ran was JFK, in 1960. Before that, Warren Gamaliel Harding, in 1920. Warrants mentioning. (BTW, when all the Democratic rage in 2004 was for Kerry’s “electability,” somehow, this didn’t get mentioned. I said then that Kerry had no shot. I was right.)

However, if he runs against Senator Clinton, well, then all bets are off, what with a Senator taking on a Senator! (Great year for a Governor to run as a third-party candidate. Where’s H. Ross Perot?) I would back him hard! However, given this immutable truth, I would support George Pataki, with either McCain or Guiliani as his running mate, on the GOP ticket in 2008.

2 responses to “McCain for President. McCain for Everyone.

  1. McCain does rock but if he does run he would have a hard time explaining a comment he made on one late night show a while back. When asked if he would run in 2008, he responded “In 2008, I’ll be 2008.”

    Rob

  2. RUDY ’08

Leave a comment