Heroes – Volume II, Chapter 8 (Four Months Ago)

Allright!  Something finally happened!

As we suspected, it was the Haitian who erased Peter’s memory, and he was able to get it back by healing his brain.  I actually love that hearing his brother’s name was what triggered it all for him.  That was great.  I almost forgot about Peter’s bangs.  Thank god they cut those off. 

The Peter/Adam dynamic is an interesting one.  Bob wants us to think that Adam is the bad guy, but we know the Company isn’t exactly clean.  Adam seems a little ambiguous.  Peter, as always, a little naive.  I wonder if Adam means “Save the World” in the same way that Linderman meant it, by killing a lot of people, especially since he knows he can’t die.

Nikki/Jessica/Gina is still irrititating, but you gotta feel for her, the way DL died was brutal, especially after surviving the gunshot from Linderman.

I was wrong about something (though I would have preferred to have been right).  I mentioned to my wife that I thought Nathan would be healed by Peter, who had absorbed that power from Linderman, and would be reminded that he could use it (assuming there was some point that Peter met Linderman, which isn’t far fetched).  I don’t like the whole “my blood has healing powers thing” though clearly this is why Claire is going to be important all over again.  Does that mean that Nathan has the healing power now, too?  Or does it wear off?

Speaking of Peter meeting Linderman, Peter’s mother, father, Kaito Nakamura, Linderman and Charles Deveaux all had powers.  Peter met (or should have met) all of them.  I want to know what those powers are, and I want Peter to start using them.  I will not let this go.  (Side question: does Peter have the same powers as Parkman, now that Parkman’s expanded them a little?  Should be, right.  He just needs Parkman to tell him.)

There was something from last week that I liked that I forgot to mention: when Peter’s mother, in June 2008, tells him: “you are the most powerful of all of us.”  I wonder when she came to that realization.

I’m not sure why we needed “back story” to tell us what we already knew: Maya and Alejandro are annoying, and she kills people by crying brown goo.  What a waste of time that was.

Finally, maybe it’s just me, but there was something extremely sexy about Elle in this episode.

7 responses to “Heroes – Volume II, Chapter 8 (Four Months Ago)

  1. Oh G-d I can’t wait for someone to kill Elle. Anyone. I don’t care. Just get rid of her.

    I said the exact same thing to my wife when they showed Maya at the wedding. Who cares? We know the back story from the comics, why waste valuable time on her and her brother?

    I’m thinking that Peter’s mom has the power of persuasion, like Eden had last season. Peter should have it also because he met Eden.

    Btw, how in the world did Nathan survive that blast? It was a nuclear explosion maybe 100 feet away. He should have been incinerated.

  2. I don’t like the whole “my blood has healing powers thing” though clearly this is why Claire is going to be important all over again. Does that mean that Nathan has the healing power now, too? Or does it wear off?

    Why do we even need Claire? Doesn’t Peter have this power now?

    Speaking of Peter meeting Linderman, Peter’s mother, father, Kaito Nakamura, Linderman and Charles Deveaux all had powers. Peter met (or should have met) all of them. I want to know what those powers are, and I want Peter to start using them. I will not let this go.

    I believe Nephtuli had suggested that Peter only absorbs the power once he’s seen it in action. I doubt he saw anyone’s powers as a kid, especially since he never saw Nathan fly until the first episode.

    Oh G-d I can’t wait for someone to kill Elle. Anyone. I don’t care. Just get rid of her.

    Agreed. Sorry, Noyam. She’s annoying and her power isn’t even that cool. Now I’m glad I never watched Veronica Mars (I believe she was the star).

    I’m thinking that Peter’s mom has the power of persuasion, like Eden had last season. Peter should have it also because he met Eden.

    Or because he’s met his mom? 🙂 Also seems like she has to touch the person in order for it to work. Btw, who the heck is Eden? I’m blanking on this…

    Btw, how in the world did Nathan survive that blast? It was a nuclear explosion maybe 100 feet away. He should have been incinerated.

    I doubt you’ll ever get the scientifically-acceptable answer you’re looking for, so you may have to let this one go as a free pass. Besides, it doesn’t really affect the story.

    Btw, I liked this episode the first time… when it was titled “The Other 48 Days” in the second season of LOST.

    How incredibly awesome would it be if after Sylar kills Maya and Alejandro, he just looks up at the camera for a second, says “you’re welcome” with a wink, and then continues on with his business???

    This Bob/Adam Good/Evil thing is really fascinating, but at some point they’ll have to tell us or it will get too annoying. But right now, I’m loving it.

  3. I believe Nephtuli had suggested that Peter only absorbs the power once he’s seen it in action.

    Not sure if he’s said that, but I also don’t think it’s true. He never saw Claire regenerate before he did (in the Homecoming episode). I stand by my position.

    Btw, how in the world did Nathan survive that blast? It was a nuclear explosion maybe 100 feet away. He should have been incinerated.i

    I think being floating in the air helped, so that the blast just pushed him as opposed to incinerating him.

    Why do we even need Claire? Doesn’t Peter have this power now?

    I thought about this. Can Peter transfer all of his powers this way?

    Finally, regarding Elle, she may be petulant and a little annoying, but there’s something about her I like. What can I say?

  4. I thought about this. Can Peter transfer all of his powers this way?

    I don’t think it’s really a transfer of power. It’s Peter using the power on other people. What I mean is, if Nathan is injured again, he wouldn’t have the power to regenerate. At least I hope that will be the case, otherwise everyone will be invincible and that would suck.

  5. Not sure if he’s said that, but I also don’t think it’s true. He never saw Claire regenerate before he did (in the Homecoming episode). I stand by my position.

    I agree with Noyam and the Claire example is perfect (another good one is getting phasing from DL). Last season Peter used his powers by remembering the person who used them first. So basically I think he would absorb the power no matter if the person is using it or not (like regenerating because Claire was close by) but wouldn’t even know he had the power unless he saw the other person use it.

    However this season we’ve seen him use powers even though his memory was wiped. So frankly there’s no way to know how he uses his powers now, so we’ll have to wait.

    Or because he’s met his mom? Also seems like she has to touch the person in order for it to work. Btw, who the heck is Eden? I’m blanking on this…

    True, although I’m not sure how strong her power is. Nathan betrayed her, rememeber.

    Eden was the woman working for HRG who killed herself rather than let Sylar get her power. I still don’t understand how Sylar was able to resist her ability in that scene.

  6. I still don’t understand how Sylar was able to resist her ability in that scene.

    I don’t think he did. I think he grabbed her before she had a chance to speak in that persuasive voice she used. Remember, she thought he was incapacitated.

  7. I don’t think he did. I think he grabbed her before she had a chance to speak in that persuasive voice she used. Remember, she thought he was incapacitated.

    If I recall correctly, they spoke for a few seconds before he pulled her throught the glass. Check out Heroes Wiki here under Fallout.

Leave a Reply

