Resources

One of the good things about working in a big firm is big firm resources.

For example, I realized that something was bothering me about my keyboard.  I was taking longer to type and making more typos, and I finally realized why: the keys on my keyboard were very tight.  It took a lot of pressure to fully depress the key and get a result.  I happen to be a light typer; I touch the keys easily and quickly.  And I was getting frustrated.

Finally, I decided to do something about it: I email the HelpDesk and I tell them:

Can I please request a different keyboard with perhaps slightly looser keys? They keys on my keyboard are very tight and require significant pressure to produce a result.

Thanks.

Within 15 minutes, someone from IT calls me, asks me what brand keyboard I have.  I tell him Labtec, he says, OK, I’ll bring you a Dell.  Not a full 10 minutes later, I have a brand new Dell keyboard hooked up.  Nice.

And yes, this post was just an excuse to give my new keyboard a test drive.

Awesome Update: Over the course of the last day and half, typing has gotten extremely easier, and therefore quicker.  I have no idea how to quantify it, but I have no doubt that I am more productive because of it.  I just punched out a great email in what might have been half the time.  This is great!!

5 responses to “Resources

  1. this is hilarious.
    it would take me a week to get a new keyboard, and I would probably have to go buy it myself and then expense it.
    Then again – i can leave work earlier than 11pm if I want to.
    I’ll take the trade off.

  2. EDS,

    Instead of leaving work early tonight why don’t you post a little somethings on The Dancing Puppets. Your last post regarding flatulance is getting stale.

  3. hahaha… ya think?

    i should, you are right. just had too much going on lately. I’ll get back to it.
    Until now I wasnt aware that my only reader was that upset.

  4. “Awesome Update: Over the course of the last day and half, typing has gotten extremely easier, and therefore quicker. I have no idea how to quantify it, but I have no doubt that I am more productive because of it. I just punched out a great email in what might have been half the time. This is great!!”

    After reading your update, I immediately thought of this-

    http://www.theonion.com/content/node/38696

Leave a Reply

