Someone Thinks Highly of Mike Francesa (Hint: It’s Mike Francesa)

Courtesy of Awful Announcing, we get this transcript of Mike responding to claims made by Mad Dog (on Howard Stern’s show, no less) that ESPN was catching up to WFAN in ratings.

“As sure as I’m sitting here, they’re never catching me, and you can underline that, OK? So the idea that they’re chasing me down in Jersey or they’re chasing me down somewhere, well, you know what, bring friends and ban everybody you can ban and bring a whole lot more ammunition than you have so far, because you have never gotten close, and you never will, as long as I’m sitting here.

“If you’re going to come after us, then you better bring more than pea shooters. Because you know what? The FAN has been No. 1 here for 20 years and it’s going to be No. 1 long after I’m gone. But while I’m sitting here, you can be damn sure it’s going to be No. 1.”

You will never defeat me!!  HAHAHAHAHA.  I am the greatest personality and talk show host in the history of radio!!

BTW, I’m not at all sure what “ban everybody you can ban” means, but I’m sure it made sense to Mike at the time.

3 responses to “Someone Thinks Highly of Mike Francesa (Hint: It’s Mike Francesa)

  1. BTW, I’m not at all sure what “ban everybody you can ban” means, but I’m sure it made sense to Mike at the time.

    I never listen to Mike anymore, but I happened to be home so I turned on YES and saw this segment. He was referring to the fact that ESPN didn’t allow anyone associated with ESPN to be on his program during super bowl week. So he lost out on a lot of guests (apparently, Mad Dog had 65 guests and Mike had 22 during the week of the super bowl). ESPN bans anyone (even loosely) associated with it from going on WFAN because they’re in competition in the local market.

  2. OK, that makes sense.

  3. The problem is that Chris was talking smack as part of a bit on Howard Stern. Mike is a baby and took things seriously.

Leave a Reply

