Standards?!

Remember when I said that maybe there should be some sort of IQ test to get into the Senate?

Well, maybe we should have a literacy test to get into the House?  Nah, you’re probably right, there’s no reason to have a grasp of English to legislate in this country.

I’m ashamed that this woman is allowed to govern my country.

Some hilites (and I’m not getting into the Robe, or the stilted speech that clearly evidences her lack of familiarity with punctuation, reading or English in general):

:09 – “Thank you Mr. Speaker.”  I may be nitpicking, but isn’t our Speaker of the House a woman?  Don’t you think Congresspeople should have at least a working knowledge of the legislative body of which they form a part?

:20 – Yeah, College Football’s Championship system is totally BS.  I agree with her on that.

:25 – The first of several times that she calls the team The Gator.

:27 – “I want to grajalate.”  I’m sure you do, but maybe not on the floor of the House?

:43 – It’s very important to have “Sportminchip.”  It’s actually a very yummy flavor of a new athletic product: PowerIceCreamAde.

1:11 – “Corch Irvin Meyers” – I think she means this guy.

1:39 and 1:42 – Reka.

1:43 – Tim TiVo.  That guy really watched a lot of tape.

2:20 “It is matters the most.”  It is.  It really is.

3:15 – “The Gators are superb to any other school with the conferences that we play in.”  …………………….. Whoa, I’m sorry, my eyes just crossed for a second.

3:30 – Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?

 

[via WithLeather]

13 responses to “Standards?!

  1. Pingback: If You're Going To Waste Time In Congress, This Is How You Do It! « The Noy G Show

  2. Remember when I said that maybe there should be some sort of IQ test to get into the Senate?

    Well, maybe we should have a literacy test to get into the House? Nah, you’re probably right, there’s no reason to have a grasp of English to legislate in this country.

    While the idea is noble, we must blame voters for not asking Q’s that would make her, ya know, talk.

    I’m glad she gradulated Florida on their academics. I hope for their sake that’s not where she went.

  3. Gusty play! Is that like shifting like the wind?

  4. This video is a gold mine. Every time you watch it, there’s more comedy to be found!

  5. All seriousness – who the f*** voted her into Congress?! And if you’re in Congress, can you take yourself seriously knowing who else is there?

  6. For more on the Gentlewoman from Florida:

    Iraq Troop Surge Debate : Corrine Brown – Anti Surge

    I couldn’t get 20 seconds into her remarks before I found the first gem:

    President’s Bush to deplore additional troops (:38).

  7. To be fair, the speaker she is thanking is the acting speaker at that time, who is male, and not Pelosi.

  8. This is sad but hysterical. I only wish she hadn’t yielded the balance of her time.

  9. Has anyone ever heard of Gerrymandering? This is the ultimate case.

  10. Isn’t she the politician who embezzled something like 250,000 dollars from tax payers so not only is her grammar crooked so is her integrety

  11. Obviously….this woman ain’t seen the ball since kickoff!!!!

  12. I laughed so hard I nearly threw up. How on Earth did this person ever get a Master’s Degree from U of F? I wonder if Corch Myers has seen that yet? Go Gator! (simply pathetic). Of course the speech is being mocked, it’s pathetic! The Gainesville Sun sounds almost indignant about it. I wonder if they’ve seen it.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

